Summertime Sadness

All good things must come to an end. Whenever pumpkin spice lattes and octoberfest beers are available, it’s safe to assume that it’s fall. I’m back in Buffalo (and my internet is FINALLY working!) and looking forward to what fall semester has in store for me. But for now, let’s take a look back at the final days of my summer vacation.

213_edited

217_edited

220_edited

226_edited

295

Bikini: Forever 21

Headband: American Apparel

I instantly fell for the vintage vibes of this bathing suit when I first saw it. The only downfall is the awkward tan lines, especially if you’re like me and have a million different bathing suits.

image_12

image_11

image_10

image_14

image_15

image_13

Aside from the gorgeous beaches and ocean waves, I miss Cape Cod’s yummy cheap seafood. I don’t think I could ever get sick of lobster rolls. I still can’t wrap my head around the fact that a lobster meal for two cost $25, and that was at a random pit stop. Provincetown also some pretty delish salt water taffy. My favorite flavors were rumbutter, watermelon, and maple.

283

More back tracking, but I forgot to include this in my Boston post. Wired Puppy has some pretty awesome drinks. I’m pretty sure I ordered an iced peanut butter latte here.

391_edited

388_edited

392_edited

Sweater: Urban Outfitters

Top: Urban Outfitters

Skirt: H&M

Shoes: Aldo

My last week or so consisted of many date nights – romantic, friends, family, etc. at some of my favorite places.

324

325

My last trio of Cafe Kubal macarons. I had blueberry, lemon raspberry, and brownie flavored ones. I’m already going through withdrawals, so if anyone knows where I can get my macaron fix in Buffalo puh-leaseeee let me know!

332

333

I wish Insomnia Cookies existed near my school. My daily diet would only consist of snickerdoodle and chocolate chip cookies. Also, this cookie cake is hilariously relevant. Props to Insomnia Cookies for the Billy Madison reference.

323

Jonathan claims that the chicken tenders at Varsity are the best in town. They are tasty. But, Tully’s tenders are just wonderful. What do you guys think? To be honest, I forget that Varsity even has food that isn’t pizza.

331

Who would I be if I didn’t have a last meal at Dinosaur BBQ? I feel like I’m boring for always ordering a pulled pork sandwich and mac and cheese. I can’t resist, they’re just good. I’d gladly eat everything else on the menu too. I didn’t think that I’d be excited for a Dinosaur BBQ coming to Buffalo, but I’m like 110% pumped.

342

I didn’t discover the magic of Boom Boom Mex Mex until I started dating Jonathan. For those of you who don’t know, it’s in this weird part of Camillus and it’s only open seasonally. When it gets too cold, they pack up and head south of the border to Mexico. Like that’s how legit this Mexican food is. For some reason these are the messiest quesedillas I’ve ever dealt with but they’re so worth it. The guacamole is pretty perfect too.

350

345

Jonathan used his fancy SU Alumni status to get us into the Dave & Buster’s VIP opening night. Maybe I should’ve gone to SU too, Otto and I look adorable together!

348

346

Gotta love the fancy flair bartender. Not quite sure what the rainbow fruity mystery shots were supposed to be but they were pretty and pretty delicious.

349

Dress: H&M

Shoes: Nasty Gal

Purse: Coach (vintage)

347

I’m so in love with my new glasses. They’re exactly what I’ve been looking for. I got lucky and they happened to be at my optometrist’s. I’m one huge step closer to looking like I walked straight out of Mad Men. And don’t let the picture fool you, all of those tickets still couldn’t get us anything too fancy.

353

354

Later that week, we went out to dinner with my parents to Pastabilities for a last meal and as a congratulation meal (I’ll tell you about that later!). I always underestimate how spicy everything is. I’m usually not one for spicy foods but chicken riggies would taste weird if they weren’t.

351

I also soaked up as many solo cafe dates too. This was around my neighborhood at Cafe 407. Fall fashion magazines are also another indicator that summer is over. The September issue will always be intimidating.

 

358

357

359

360

395_edited

Top: Urban Outfitters

The New York State Fair is always the very last thing I do before I head back to school. Yes it’s the same damn thing every year, but that’s why I like it I suppose. I can always rely on the fact that the $1 baked potato line will be ridiculously long. Weird things will be deep fried. Wine slushies will be awesome. Animals will be adorable. Etc. etc. etc. This is the only time I’ll drink whole milk. It’s fresh chocolate milk, I’ll force my stomach to deal. I usually save fried dough for right before I leave so I have something to snack on during the excruciating ordeal of trying to leave the fairgrounds.

396_edited

400_edited

It’s been a solid summer to say the least. Sadly, this was possibly my last legitimate summer vacation EVER. Welcome to the adult life. For anyone who’s interested, I’ve got some pretty exciting things coming up this semester. My senior year at Buffalo State should be interesting to say the least. I have an internship lined up with the Buffalo Sabres that I’m beyond excited for! I’m also (sort of) getting back into journalism, but as a photographer this time around. Fear not, being back in school just means that I’ll have plenty more outfits to show off. I’ll always be writing, eating, drinking, taking photos, and exploring. I sincerely hope you all continue to follow my adventures now that I’m back in Buffalo!

 

1 Comment

Filed under Syracuse, Travel

One response to “Summertime Sadness

  1. Meggggglessss

    I’m always so hungry after reading your posts. :/

Leave a Reply

