Food Festival Weekend

051

This year Greek Fest and Taste of Syracuse fell on the same weekend. I missed out on all of the food festivals last year because I was still recuperating from getting my wisdom teeth pulled out aka hiding my gross swollen face from society. I definitely made up for last year’s lost and had great time despite the gloomy weather. Day 1 was spent at Greek Fest, which was also my first time ever going.

040

My food fest buddies for the entire weekend were my boyfriend Jonathan and his friend Dan! Fun fact, Jonathan’s half Greek. Therefore us winding up at Greek fest.

031

We drank maybe 3 bottles of this Greek wine.

032_cropped

033_edited

We also sat at the table right in front of the wine booth because we’re efficient.

Shirt: H&M

Pants: H&M

Belt: Target

Necklace: Forever 21

046

042

048

Meanwhile, more vino and more finger pointing at my camera…

063

Aside from some strong Greek wine, I basically lived off of lamb souvlaki that evening. Flo’s a huge fan of Greek food so I brought her home a gyro, dolomades, and an assortment of Greek pastries. The only one I knew was baklava. I was hoping there’d be some leftovers when I came home, but they were devoured the second I dropped them off.

013

So, I ate honey puffs for the first time. Honey puffs, or loukoumades, are fried balls soaked in honey and sprinkled with cinnamon and possibly crack and magic. According to Ancient Greek Mythology, they were created by the Greek Gods for lavish parties and to rain from the sky to mess with mortals. It’s also been said that they are the source behind John Stamos’ everlasting youth.

*that last paragraph is totally untrue, except for the fact that honey puffs are insanely delicious. If you thought any of that was true, you need to look at your life.

064

065

Sweater: Topshop

Spent day 2 at Taste of Syracuse with the same crew from yesterday plus these lovely ladies, Julia and Alexa! The weather was still lame and gloomy so I just threw on a sweater, leggings, and boots to keep it comfy and sensible. I actually don’t regret this.

021

Jonathan is all about the bang bang shrimp from Bonefish Grill. I’ll admit, they’re tasty. I’m pretty sure we stood in line 3 times for shrimp.

023

My usual strategy for Taste of Syracuse is to buy $1 samples from a ton of places and make that my dinner. Of course I got a cup of chicken riggies. They’re tasty and fun to say.

022

I also drank a ton of wine slushies. 20 ounces of pure wonderfulness! If anyone saw or ran into me at any point during Taste of Syracuse that night I might’ve been drunk. Not like “crazy wasted stumbly pukey why are you even out in public” drunk, but like “lol wow I love wine slushies and everything’s hilarious but I remember absolutely everything” kind of drunk. The only downfall to drinking at festivals like this is the lack of comfortable bathrooms. Wine slushies are worth the slight awkward discomfort though.

Leave a comment

Filed under Fashion, Food, Syracuse

Leave a Reply

