In The Sun

What I Wore:

Stereotypical summer day: beach trip with the family on the hottest day of the year followed by a fun filled evening of hanging around on a friend’s porch because none of my friends have AC. Pretty stellar day if you ask me!

Top – H&M

Shorts – Forever 21

I kinda wish that my top was actually my bathing suit. Just sayin’.

Bikini – Hollister Co.

A beach post isn’t complete without an obnoxious mirror shot selfie in a bathing suit.

Once upon a time, while I was in high school, I worked at Hollister Co. I was what they call a “model”. I greeted you. I screamed at you over loud music. I clumsily crashed into table corners because it was darker than a cave. I folded your intentionally ripped denim jeans like it was origami. I am partially responsible for that overwhelming amount of cologne that you had to smell. So, now I just have a shit ton of clothes from Hco that I don’t really wear. I do still dig the bathing suits I bought with my handy dandy employee discount.

Let’s play make up or no make up? If you answered yes, you’re wrong. If you answered no, you’re wrong. If you answered both, you win! It was wayyy too hot out to wear anything heavy. Seeing me without foundation on is pretty rare. However, I can’t leave my house without putting mascara on at least. Waterproof mascara is a definite must have in the summer…and on days when you’re feeling crazy emotional.

Flip flops – Havaianas

The beach, pools, and icky public dorm showers are the only acceptable places to wear flip flops. I don’t think I’ve worn flip flops seriously since I worked at Hollister (it was mandatory.) But I will admit, Havaianas are pretty neat. I got these in the Philippines years ago and they’re still in pretty good condition. So if you’re going to wear flip flops, at least do it kind of right and get a pair of these.

What I Ate:

How do I keep my beach body in check you ask? Burgers. Lots and lots of burgers – obviously. (and various other forms of artery clogging food.)  Wegmans thought it’d be a genius idea to infuse bleu cheese into burger patties. Well played Weggies, well played.

Excuse my wonky eyes, I was just super into this piece of watermelon.

Miscellaneous

I went overboard on the amateur picture taking.

After that super delish lunch I decided to catch up on some reading while listening to She & Him, Beach House and Best Coast!

So my main mission was to even out my incredibly awkward tan. Mission not accomplished. I fell asleep after a few chapters. The front is even toastier than the back now. My tan shall be forever uneven.

In case anyone was curious I went to Southwick Beach. My parents have taken me here tons of time throughout the years and my friends love it too. In my opinion it’s one of the best beaches in the area.

Does anyone remember that Spongebob Squarepants episode where Spongebob was the lifeguard and was trying crazy hard to make sure no one drowned. That was how that day went. I guess the waves were crazier than usual so the lifeguards made everyone swim in the shallow end. I’m small and all but being ankle deep in water isn’t doin’ it for me. It was way too hot to be a diva about it so I eventually just sat down and pretended like nothing was wrong. Shit got real. I was on the waves’ levels. Like, it was some Poseidon shit going on. Getting knocked around by waves also forces you to land in awkward mermaid Sports Illustrated like poses by the way. But yeah, successful summer day nonetheless!

1 Comment

Filed under Miscellaneous

One response to “In The Sun

  1. well, i’m sure all the guys will LOVE the bathing suit pics!

Leave a Reply

